home | O'Reilly's CD bookshelfs | FreeBSD | Linux | Cisco | Cisco Exam  

Book HomeXML in a NutshellSearch this book

21.3. Primitive Types

The W3C XML Schema Language provides 44 built-in simple types for text strings. Each type has a value space and a lexical space. The value space is the set of unique meanings for the type, which may or may not be text. In some sense, the value space is composed of Platonic forms. The lexical space is the set of text strings that correspond to particular points in the value space. For example, the xs:boolean type has the value space true and false. However, its lexical space contains four strings: true, false, 0, and 1. true and 1 both map to the same value true, while false and 0 map to the single value false. In cases like this where multiple strings in the lexical space map to a single value, then one of those strings is selected as the canonical lexical representation. For instance, the canonical lexical representations of true and false are the strings true and false.

The primitive types are organized in a hierarchy. All simple types descend from an abstract ur-type called xs:anySimpleType, which is itself a descendant of an abstract ur-type called xs:anyType that includes both simple and complex types. Simple types are derived from other simple types by union, restriction, or listing. For example, the xs:nonNegativeInteger type is derived from the xs:integer type by setting its minInclusive facet to 0. The xs:integer type is derived from the xs:decimal type by setting its fractionDigits facet to 0. Figure 21-1 diagrams the complete hierarchy of built-in types. The xs:simpleType element allows you to apply facets to these types to create your own derived types that extend this hierarchy.

Figure 21-1

Figure 21-1. The simple type hierarchy

The types are organized in the following section alphabetically. For each type the value and lexical spaces are described, and some examples of permissible instances are provided.

TIP: A schema cannot declare either parsed or unparsed entities. An XML document that uses any entities other than the five predefined ones must have a DOCTYPE declaration and a DTD.


Elements and attributes with type xs:language contain a language code as defined in RFC 1766, Tags for the Identification of Languages. These are essentially the acceptable values for the xml:lang attribute described in Chapter 5. If possible, this should be one of the two-letter language codes defined in ISO 639, possibly followed by a country code. For languages that aren't listed in ISO 639, you can use one of the i-codes registered with IANA. If the language you need isn't present in either of these sets, you can make up your own language tag beginning with the prefix "x-" or "X-". Thus, these are acceptable language values:

  • en

  • en-US

  • en-GB

  • fr-CA

  • i-klingon

  • x-quenya

  • X-PigLatin

Constraining facets that apply to xs:language are length, minLength, maxLength, pattern, enumeration, and whiteSpace.

Library Navigation Links

Copyright © 2002 O'Reilly & Associates. All rights reserved.