RFC index | STD index | BCP index | FYI index
Plain text | gzipped plain text | A4 postscript | A4 postscript, 2 up | A4 postscript, 4 up
Network Working Group V. Cerf Request for Comments #63 31 July 70 Belated Network Meeting Report On 8 May 1970, a Network Working Group meeting was hosted at Lincoln Labs. The topics under discussion were: 1) Lincoln Lab's Local Interaction Language (LIL) 2) Records, Messages, and Format in HOST-HOST information exchange. 3) Miscellaneous gripes The first topic is thoroughly summarized in Lincoln Lab's Semi annual Technical Summary titled "Graphics", dated May 31, 1970 (document id. ESD-TR-70-151). The second topic involved considerable discussion of NWG/RFC #42 in which it was proposed that all messages be preceded by an 8-bit type byte which would declare the format of the message which followed. The following decisions were reached: a) Records may begin anywhere within a message. b) The first 8 bits of a record are reserved for type information. c) The first transmission on a connection starts a record. Type 0 is agreed to mean that the transmission that follows consists of an arbitrarily long record, and that no further type bytes will be present. The notions of messages and records are independent of the flow-control protocol. Thus the receipt of a message does not carry any semantic importance. The receipt of a record, however, may initiate some interpre- tation process. After some discussion, the proposals in NWG/RFC #42 were permuted as follows: type 0 = bit string of arbitrary length follows type 1 = 8-bit ASCII follows type 2 = EBCDIC follows type 3 = MOD 33 TTY 7-bit ASCII [Page 1]
Network Working Group V. Cerf Request for Comments #63 31 July 70 type 4 = YOUR Local followed by another type byte type 5 = MY Local followed by another type byte The praise or blame for the preceding decisions rests on the attendees at the meeting, to wit:

E. Ancona (LL)

T. J. Barkalow (LL)

D. B. Black (Harvard)

Jack Bouknight (UI) Howard Brodie (MAC) Vint Cerf (UCLA) Steve Crocker (UCLA) Jim Curry (UTAH)

A. Evans (LL, MAC)

Robert Flegal (UTAH) Jim Frogie (LL)

J. D. Fry (MITRE)

John Heafner (RAND) Bob Hoffman (RAND) Richard Kalin (LL) William Kantrowitz (LL) Peggy Karp (MITRE) Abe Landsberg (SDC) Robert Long (SDC) James Madden (UI) John Melvin (SRI) Alan Nemeth (LL) John Newkirk (Harvard) Jon Postel (UCLA) Tom O'Sullivan (Raytheon) Ari Shoshani (SDC) Joel Winett (LL) Instead of sending NWG/RFC's to Chuck Rose at Case University, Jim Torson will be receiving them. [ This RFC was put into machine readable form for entry ] [ into the online RFC archives by Tammy and Ofer Porat 1/97 ] [Page 2]